Paige comments

Radio Marketing & Promotional guru Paige Nienaber of CPR responded to my earlier post about Engagement & Loyalty marketing.  Since he’s usually right on the money when it comes to his radio insight, I thought I’d move him comments to the main blog.  Thanks, Paige!

“One of the stations had a massively cool bit this past Fall. Great visual. Live on the website for a week. But to watch it, you had to sign up for their social networking club. As my 16 year-olf niece said “F that, I don’t want more spam”. (Heavy dripping teen sarcasm is implied.)

One of the challenges is that people just don’t care that much about radio anymore. We’ve dumbed it down and surgically removed the creativity and theater and fun to the point that we’re just iPods with commercials. And at most stations the carrots that are dangled through the programs just aren’t worth the time and labor to earn them.

I’m a Points Geek. Super Mega Elite American Status. No real work or effort required except do what I do and get rewarded for it. And we’re all going to China for the Olympics. But even that carrot would b questionable if they made me go through some of the hoops that we do with out listeners.

With a certain company pulling the goalie so-to-speak and effectively removing their stations from the streets and community, I questioned this judgement with one of their VP’s. The database marketing should be a wedge in the pie. Not the pie. I told him that if I called Obama and suggested that he pull his volunteers and stop making appearances and just sit in an office and send emails to people, he’d fall off his chair laughing.

Loyalty is hard-earned. You get it one listener at a time. And you do it the personal way.”

6 Responses to “Paige comments”

  1. Damn! Paige knows his stuff.

  2. No. Not really. I have Brazilian exchange students do all my work for me while I lounge on the couch, drink beer and watch “Rockford Files” beta tapes. But thank you.

  3. …and so modest!

  4. Hey Paige,
    Remember that one time, you, me Welch & woody launched a watermelon over I-4 with the huge ass three person slingshot…

  5. On advice of counsel, I don’t recall any such activity. My only visits to Orlando have been as part of Christian youth conferences where I was speaking as an advocate of abstinance until the 5th wedding anniversary.

Leave a Reply

